Sunday, December 7, 2008

Happy Holidays!

I hope ya'll get that stuck in your head now! hehe Just a little note to catch you up. Last night, Candice, Mom & Dad, Mary & Jason came over and we made homemade Christmas ornaments. We had some winners, and well, some duds. ;) The Christmas squid was definitely a winner, but my snowman's head fell off. It was fun though.

Candice and Johnny are into basketball season full swing. John and I are into winter hibernation mode. Hey, we're landscapers, we can do that. I have been working on learning how to make Granny's yellow noodles (the best noodles EVER!), although I'm sure it will take a long time to get them.

My racing season was awesome. I posted about the marathon - 2 weeks after that, I ran a 5k. I was hoping to run faster than the 5k I did in the summer, 26:05 - which was like an 8:25ish pace. I ran 23:20 - a 7:30 pace! Wheee!! I was super excited. Not a PR, but my PR was in college (and I don't remember exactly what it was, 21 something), so I was still excited. Then on Thanksgiving, I ran the Drumstick Dash - an 8k; my goal was to PR (which should be easy, it was 39 something - 8:4x pace). I wanted to shoot for 36:00 (8 mpm - I really didn't know if I could hold for 4.5 miles.) It was super crowded, so I was weaving in and out and nearly stopping a few times in the first few miles, but I finished in 35:53. At first I was like, well, at least it's a good PR, then I realized that I had beat my goal. Duh. There is also some really good food at the end of the race, so I was thankful for that as well.

I'm trying to figure out next years racing season. I decided not to run the mini, and I don't think I'm going to run Twisted Ankle. (Though I love them both.) I am probably going to run a 1/2 in Albany with my cousin - I am VERY excited about that. I'll look for another spring half as well. Maybe Louisville or Cincinatti? And I'm not sure about the fall. Another marathon, or just halfs? I don't really need to decide now, but I want to make some goals.

And, in the really important stuff, the New Years race is coming up. On New Years Day! Well, maybe. Last year, the New Years Day race was in the middle of January. :? Anyway, that will be fun. I am excited for racing season - I may try my hand at figure 8. No, not the big figure 8, the front wheel drive figure 8.;) John and Dad will be up in the street stocks too, I don't know about New Years Day but for the regular season definitely.

Anyways, have a wonderful holiday season and see you soon. (Well, probably in a few months. ;) )

Saturday, November 8, 2008

HAHAHA

Like I was really going to follow through and post every day's workout. Oh well. My marathon was November 1st. My goal was 9:30 pace (which is about 4:10, I think) but I really wasn't sure if I could average that the whole way, so I knew I would be happy with 4:15, so I made that my goal. I finished in 4:05:50. I was so so so happy with that. :) It was about a 30 minute PR.

That said, I was SO CLOSE to being under 4 hours. So I'm ready to get back at it and pick another one and get under. And it was a really good course (Indianapolis Monumental). However, it is advertised as flat and fast. It probably is fast, and maybe it is relatively flat (I can only imagine it's hard to find 26.2 miles to run on that are truly flat - plus it'd probably be boring), but the hills it did have are doozies and they're all in the second half. That is not fun. I did decent hill work - both my 20 milers were at Eagle Creek, and I think I did another few long ones out there, but the hills were still a bit rough. But I would definitely do this one again, and I'd be more prepared.

Saturday, August 2, 2008

Eagle Creek distances

Loop - 4.6
To 56th from 71st - 2.6
Loop with extra jog - 5.2

I don't know why everyone says it's a 5.5 mile loop. I know Heather measured last year and got this - we just forgot the exact mileage.

Saturday, August 2nd

This week has been crazy. I got up Thursday to run, but was tired again. I had soccer though, and just played mid more so I could run a bit more. Friday was our anniversary, (xoxo) and after getting blasted at soccer, have a twingy knee (plus the groin thing). So I just waited for the long run. Kelly and I did about 12 at Eagle Creek. It felt pretty good. We did two loops (9.2) then ran the trails for 30 more minutes. I could feel the knee, but it only hurt a few times - going up the hills -- but not the big one. Weird. The big one wasn't as hard as I remembered, so that's a good thing, I think.

12 - old Mizuno Wave Riders

only 23.5 this week.

Wednesday, July 30

Frustrating! I got up Tuesday morning to go to the track, but I was too tired and went back to bed. Tuesday night, football practice, so no using the track. Wednesday morning, drive to the track at 5 am and it's locked. UGH! I just ran on the trail Weds night - 1 mi warm up, 4 x1200 with 5 minutes rest between. I was right on pace, a little quicker on the first and last one - I think that section might be a tad short. Then 1 mi cool down. I ended up with about 6.5.


6.5 Mizuno Wave Riders (old ones)

Monday, July 28th - Week 3

5 miles. I'm late, so I don't remember much about it. It was easy though.


5 miles, Brooks Switch

Saturday, July 26, 2008

Saturday, July 26

11 miles on the canal towpath from the store. I ran about 4 with Kelly, she had run 3 earlier to beat the heat. Did about 4.5 with Natalie. On the way back, I ran with Karen for a mile or so, so I wasn't totally alone. Saw Bob's friend Thom out for a run. Groin didn't hurt when running, but does hurt at 10:30 at night while I'm typing this. Tomorrow is a day off, which should do it some good.


11 miles, Brooks Switch

Weekly mileage - 30.5

Friday, July 25

4 river trail miles. Still worried about groin pain. Played soccer last night - didn't go all out running and turning. anyway, the 5 miles weren't bad - I didn't do the strides as a precaution.


4 Brooks Switch

Wednesday, July 23rd

5 slow miles on the river trail. Groin pain, so I was testing it. It didn't bother my run, but still hurts. :(


5 miles, Brooks Switch

Tuesday, July 22, 2008

Tuesday, July 22nd

Speedwork! Whoo. I actually don't mind speedwork, at least when it's shorter distances. Once it gets longer, I may change my tune.

Today was 5 x 800 with 4 min recovery in between, and 1 mile warmup and 1 mile cooldown. I found the gates to the high school track are opened, so I got there bright and early and did them. I was shooting for 8:06 pace = 4:03 800's. Splits were: 4:02, 3:54, 3:55, 3:54 & 3:53. Not exactly on target, but next week are 1200 repeats, so that should get me in that range. It's frustrating because it was hard, but I did think I was running a little easier. Oh well. It's nice to have the run done with for the day.

Pushup challenge will be tonight as well.

Monday, July 21st (Week 2)

Ate way too much all day. This resulted in a craptacular 5 miler. Easy pace - whatever, I got it done. It was all buggy and gross again. Eww.

Brooks Switch - 5 miles

Saturday, July 19, 2008

Their Empire is Crumbling!

Whoot. Longest running race, badass figure 8's. Blah blah blah. Who are some of the big names? Ronnie Rose, Mike Riddle, Shawn Cullen, Nick Warner, Ranny Hinton, Robbie Allman, Johnny Magee...I could go on. (andersonspeedway.com for more info.) It's a smallish field for the National Crown, but it's a talented bunch. 75 laps of figure eight off the high banks. We are in for a show, ya'll!

Johnny Magee (driving the trusty Swinford car) has had a score to settle with Ronnie Rose (yes, that Rose family) since the beginning of the season, when he was put out of the race at the last turn of a 200 lap race by Mr. Rose. Of course, he's gotten him back numerous times, but Ronnie deserves that and more for this repeated dirty driving (if you don't like it, make your own blog about how awesome Ronnie Rose is and how the Roses cashed in when they sued the track for falling on a hill.) And some of you might be bored with me bringing the last turn wreck up everytime I talk about Rose, but to me, it bears repeating. Anywho, we have that battle to look forward to. The Riddle is kinda enemies with anyone who gets in his way. Somedays you love him, somedays you hate him. Though I'd like to know why they call him the hedgehog. He's a COBRA, dammit! Remember? UGH. Shawn Cullen, Ranny Hinton, Joe Hart, and Mike Peters are all teammates or Friends of Rose (FOR). None of them are as bad as Ronnie, but Shawn Cullen is next on the list, with Ranny (of Uncle Ranny fame) still being well liked, so we can usually overlook his association with them. Nick Warner is known as a cheater and a pothead, which is a great mix with a 3000 lb machine that he has control of. I think most people are not for him, but I could be wrong.

Anyways, 20 or so laps in, Johnny Magee is out. Flat tire maybe? I don't know, but there goes a big chance of Ronnie Rose getting put out, and he'll probably win. Suck. But Mike Riddle's still in it- he won't think twice about taking Rose out. Well, damn. His car broke and he had to pull off. No wrecks for him now. Wait, what's this? Right in front of us (and Ronnie's most obnoxious fans)? Bam! Into the wall goes Ronnie! Bam again, into the barriers at the pit wall! OUCH, smashed again (and again, and again!) by Ranny! Uh oh, you're getting kicked out of the club! Don't worry Ranny. You've got vudu on your side. Oh wait, he's going off too. So is Joe Hart. So what, one Rose wrecks and they all gotta leave? Oh wait, back come Ranny and Joe. Green flag racing again.

Check this out! Mike Peters is slowing Nick Warner down, and now Robbie has a chance! Ranny is moving back up through the pack. Ohhh! Here comes Ranny's family; they are going to throw the smackdown on the Rose fans. Don't mess with them, bitches. They'll cut you! Robbie Allman never did catch Warner, so potty mcpothead added another win to his stats. No worries here, at least it wasn't Ronnie!! ;)




Oh yeah, this morning I ran 10 with Kelly along the Monon. It was so hot, but we got it in.

Brooks Switch - 10 miles

Weekly mileage 29

Friday, July 18, 2008

Friday, July 18th

Happy birthday, Aunt Beth! :):)

5 miles easy with 6 x 30 second strides

I got up early to do this workout. Unfortunately, I had some interior groin pain that went down through my quad to the top of my knee. I decided to wait until I got off work so I could let it warmup throughout the day and do some stretching. I ended up waiting until about 3:00 (thank goodness for early Fridays) - right after I'd eaten lunch. Normally doesn't bother me to eat right before running, but it was so hot, it did this time. Ugh. I got through it though, no real knee pain or anything. Fingers crossed it stays that way. :)

Now - dinner is blueberry pancakes. With whipped cream. Love it.



Brooks Switch - 5 miles

Wednesday, July 16

4 miles, easy. Not much else to report.

Thursday was a rest day, but I did have soccer, so there was plenty of running. We won, yay!


4 miles, Brooks switch.

Wednesday, July 16, 2008

Tuesday's run

Last night was 1 mile warmup, 4 x 800 @ 8:06 pace with 5 minute recovery in between and a 2 mile cooldown. 1st 800 was way too fast - 3:47. The second was a little better at 4:00, then 4:01 then 4:04. I was pretty happy with that - I know I got slower, but it was honestly a planned slowdown to get my form right and my pace where it needed to be. I felt tired, but still able to get there.

The bugs were disgusting, though. In my eyes, down my throat, probably 100 of them on my face, arms, and chest. Gross gross gross.



Brooks Switch - 5 miles

Monday, July 14, 2008

It's been awhile...

since I could stand on my own two feet again. Fred Durst sang with them once, back when Fred Durst was cool. Ok, maybe he was never cool. But he wasn't always quite the tool he is now.

But, I've started marathon training again, and it's time to keep track of my mileage. I'm headed out for an easy 5 miler. And when I say easy, I'm serious. 10:40 pace. I'm pretty slow, but that is waaaaay slow, even for me. And it's difficult to run that slow. But I'll do it, as I want to PR.

Anderson Speedway news - John bought Willie DeHart's old car. Pretty speedy. John qualified a PR this week, but the actual races got rained out. Very exciting though. Dad got a new figure 8 car, but he hasn't raced it yet. Remember, any time I post about the races, whatever I write in no way reflects the views of my husband or dad.

What else is new? My sister in law is getting married in September at the gardens at the zoo to a super cool guy. I'm very excited. It will be beautiful, fo sho. Also, I met some of John's brothers that I hadn't met at his dad's funeral. Family reunion next month, which will be fun. And for all of you thinking I've forgotten about the canoe trip, I haven't. It'll probably be in August cuz I'm a slacker, but you know it's fun and totally worth the wait. A dead body has already been found this year (which is a horrible tragedy), but much better than last year when there was one found THE DAY AFTER our trip. Yeah. So stay tuned!

Later homeys.
SB

Oh yeah. Thanks to my buddy Jenn, I'm going to try to build up to 100 push ups (at once) in 6 weeks. Time to get buff.

5 miles. Brooks Switch

Thursday, April 3, 2008

April Fool's Day

Was going to put the run off until the morning, but I never actually run in the morning, so I sucked it up and ran a few miles. I picked it up on the way back, that felt good.


The races were last weekend. As many of you know, I'm not a fan of Ronnie Rose, especially since his douche-y move ended up screwing my dad's car. I sincerely hope every time that Rose is on the track, someone puts him in the wall. Not hard to hurt him, just enough to mess his car/truck up every week.

Saturday, March 29, 2008

Thursday, March 27th

ran to 206th and back. About 2.somethin. Rainy and chilly.

Thursday, March 27, 2008

Tuesday March 25

Ran about 2.5. Pretty slow.

Saturday, March 22, 2008

Saturday, March 22

Ran 7.5 miles at Mounds. The longest path was 2.5 miles so I just did the loop 3 times. 1st was 28:25, 2nd 28:24 3rd: 28:32. Felt pretty good. Nice change of pace.

Weds, 3/19

River flooded. Ran to 206th & back. About 2 miles.

Saturday, March 15, 2008

March 15, 2008

I finally ran with the group today. We went out on the canal towpath too, so a nice soft surface. I did a little over 6 in 62 minutes. I ran a half hour with Kelly, but the rest of the group did 90, so I turned back early. We saw a beaver swimming, then I saw a dead duck on the way back. It was so sad-another duck was just sitting there, quacking at it. God it was awful. When I drove the green beast to Butler I squashed a baby duckling on that same road. I felt so horrible. But this was a full grown duck, smushed and broken. :( :(

Other than that, it was a great run! Seriously.

Wednesday, March 12, 2008

March 12, 2008

Ran the path + the hill today, 39:30. Felt faster than that but whatever. I logged it. The weather is starting to be really nice for running, thank goodness. I went back to work today - time to start earning that $$. ;) John is getting back into it too, YAY!

Song of the run: Live "I Alone"

Sunday, March 9, 2008

March 9

3.5ish in 39 minutes

Wednesday, March 5, 2008

March 5, 08

Trail is flooded, ran 27 slooooow minutes. I'm aiming for 3 easy days a week running and doing other workouts at least 3 other days.

Sunday, March 2

Gorgeous day, about 60 degrees. I couldn't waste it, so I ran a slow 45 minutes. It felt so good to be out there - the trail was packed with runners, walkers, bikers and skaters.

Wednesday, February 13, 2008

2/13/08

About 2 miles (trail was blocked so I'm not sure exactly how long I went) 22 minutes. Knee sore from hitting it on the door, not bad though. Little twinge in right quad but not bad. No tylenol either.

Saturday, February 9, 2008

February 9th

Ran 5 miles with Kelly and Heather. Not running for two weeks was not a good idea. At least not jumping back with a 5 miler. I survived, and managed out in 26 back in 24:09. If I hadn't been running with them it would have been ugly. However, no pain mid thigh and I only felt the soreness in my hip from the workout I did Thursday. I took two tylenol though, and I don't remember if I did that in last times run. I'm going to run once or twice this week to see how it goes.

Sunday, February 3, 2008

2/3/08

Walked 68 minutes. Went about 4 miles give or take. Wore my new shirt, cute. But underdressed. My fingers are still frozen.


Go Giants. Please spoil the "perfect" season. PLEASE!!!!!

February 2, 2008

Walked w/ Mom and Dad while Candice was at practice. Went over an hour, not sure how far because the roads, sidewalks and basically every surface was covered with ice and snow. We walked around the schools and the parking lot.

Also have been doing yoga. No class, just stuff on exercise tv. I feel like I'm at least doing something.

1/26/08

Ran with Kelly and Heather. Kelly and I went 40, Heather ran on to 86th st. Felt good, sore at the end.

Thursday, January 24, 2008

1/24/08

Walked 20 minutes today. My leg still hurts, but not as bad when I walk. I'm going to try to walk tomorrow and then run 35-40 Saturday and see how that goes.

Amber had her baby! 8lbs, 7oz, 22.5" . Welcome to the world, Peyton Leigh. :) :x

Saturday, January 19, 2008

1st training run for mini 1/19/08

Of course, I'm walking the mini. But I'm still going to run with the training group to stay in shape and to train for the half I'll be doing after the mini.

30 minutes. Ouch. I haven't run since NYE, and boy did it show. I was struggling. I did make it to 75th and back in right at 30, came back a little quicker (it IS downhill, after all), and didn't hobble at all. I'm still not sure about the leg. I'm concerned, but it'll probably take a few more runs to make up my mind. As much as the run pretty much sucked, it felt really good to be running. Yay. It was also very very cold. I'm not a sissy ;) , but if Kelly hadn't been going, I wouldn't have gone today. The temp in Broad Ripple was 6, wind chill was something negative. :( There were alot more people there than I expected, so that will be fun. Natalie and Kelly are doing the training this year, and several familiar faces from marathon and last year's mini training programs. I'm sure Heather will pop in from time to time as well.


Also, Thursday(?) morning, John and I walked 22 minutes. Good start.

Candice has a game tonight; soup dinner and bday cake for Auntie Jane tommorrow. :)

Monday, January 14, 2008

1/14/08

Walked 57 minutes today, probably about 3.5 miles or so, I guess. Off to Candice's ball game in a bit.

Sunday, January 13, 2008

I haven't run at all this year

And it is driving me crazy. I'm also not walking, or doing any weight bearing exercise (well, I'm walking to and fro, but not just going for a walk for exercise) because I want to make sure I'm not really hurt and don't want to visit the dr. So now, I'm going nuts, gaining weight and just generally freaking out. And the Colts lost, so that sucks too.

Still working on the racing blog, I haven't forgotten.

Monday, January 7, 2008

1/7/08

Still hurting, so nothing today. No core work yesterday so I'll have to do that tonight. I did help John do some landscaping so at least I got out and moved around a bit.

Still not sure how I'm doing the racing blog...I think it's going to be separate and private. I just cannot keep my mean thoughts to myself. ;)

Sunday, January 6, 2008

1-6-08

It's early, but I can tell there will be nothing today either, besides core work. Sore sore sore.


Amber's baby shower is today. I still cannot believe that in about a month, she is going to be a mommy. I love her. xo

Saturday, January 5, 2008

1/5/08

Another day of nothing. :( Leg doesn't feel any better. Frustrating.

You know what else is frustrating? Watching the Redskins almost come back but continuing to suck ass. Now Clinton Portis is down. They've got a few minutes to turn it around, but it doesn't look likely.

Stick around for a super special Anderson Speedway blog.

Friday, January 4, 2008

1/4/07

Nothing again today. I'll do some core work and look for a pool. Being injured sucks. Maybe by Monday I'll be good to go.

Obama and Huckabee won Iowa caucuses. Interesting.

1/3/07

Nothing today. A little core work last night. Still sore.

Wednesday, January 2, 2008

:( 1/2/08

After taking yesterday off due to my quad, I walked the nature trail today. As I started it felt good, but towards the end it was bothering me. I'm hoping for a muscle thing, not a sfx thing.

Oh yeah, it was really really cold. I thought I was getting frostbitten fingers.

Tuesday, January 1, 2008

New Years Day!

Unfortunately, I don't think there will be a run today - pain in right quad. I really wanted to start the new year off with a good run, but maybe my resolution this year will be to run smart and not end up injured at the end of every training cycle. I might take a walk later to just do something, although I'm not sure how that will be any different than running on it.

In non-running news, the New Year's Day race at Anderson Speedway (stock cars, not running race) was postponed until Saturday. So the New Year's Day race will be January 5th. Because that makes sense. CHANGE THE FREAKING NAME! IT'S NOT THE NEW YEAR'S DAY RACE ANYMORE. Geez. I'm just crabby bc I'm not running, and this race is always billed as being raced rain or shine, warm or cold. Liars. :D