Happy New Year, folks. Plus 1 week. And a day. Anyway, just wanted to pop in a give some updates. I have given up on keeping a running log. It really will just not happen. I've been running for 18+ years, so whatever. I did keep track by highlighting the workouts I did on my training plan last fall, so maybe baby steps. It's also really stupid bc I email with a group of runners, so I could just copy that somewhere. Oh well.
I did decide on a half marathon to train for. Sam Costa at the end of March over in Carmel. It's local, pretty low key from what a few friends have said, and I'm hoping for a PR. :) I also plan on going to the Indy mini and cheering on some friends. It'll be cool to be able to watch the superstar winners.
The New Year's Day race did, in fact, happen on New Years Day. And ohhhhh, it was cold. And there were portolets. Ick. (Really, I have no problem with portopotties, and these were fairly clean, so whatever. It's just the idea of them, I think.)It was fun though. It's always fun to cheer and boo for people, and tell them when their tires fall off. And the Swinfords will always put on a show. It's so funny. There are drivers who are fast, and there are drivers who just go out to get revenge. The Swinfords, though, they are both really good, fast drivers as well as vengeful. You just never know if they're going to win or just blatantly blast someone in the crossover. And I'm not talking dirty drivers who have fast cars, who will put you out to get around you. I'm talking, the Swinford's are either going to win the race, or they're going to demolish a car or 3, and you just never know which it's going to be. I realize this isn't admirable, but it sure is fun (if it isn't your car.) And it's really great when someone "Swinfords" them back, and they get all indignant and pissy. You reap what you sow guys. I love it, but you can't dish it out if you're not going to take it. Then again, when the Roses do it, it's sure not as fun. I guess it just comes down to who you like better (or dislike least). Dad had a decent race, not many cars making it out for the Street Stock competition. But that's good, because no drama in that race. (I like my drama in the races where my loved ones aren't racing. Of course. LOL) Anyway, this fan thought it was a great start to the season and I really really want to drive the figure 8 this year. We'll see.